From Tar Valon Library
Jump to: navigation, search

A similar entry appears in the Wheel of Time Companion confirming the information available in the main story arc.

Unless stated otherwise, all information herein is taken from The World of Robert Jordan's "The Wheel of Time", Chapter 10.

Author: Atarah al'Norahn


The nation of Aelgar was located in what is now known as Tarabon, bordered by Safer to the north, Manetheren to the northeast, Eharon to the southeast, and the whole south and southwestern border was a coast of the Aryth Ocean.

Cities, Towns, and Villages

The capital of Aelgar was the Ogier-built city of Ancohima; little else is known about Ancohima, with the exception of the fact that there was a Waygate located there (LoC, Ch. 20). Other known cities in Aelgar include Shar Honelle, Condaris, and Mainelle. Nothing is known of the first one, though we do know that there was a Waygate located at Condaris (LoC, Ch. 20) and that Mainelle was located where Tanchico now stands.

Formation, Government, and Nobility

Like the other nations in its time, Aelgar was formed sometime after the Breaking of the World.

King Remedan the Goldentongued was the ruler who signed the Compact on behalf of Aelgar. Nothing else about the government or nobility is known.

Before the Trolloc Wars

Before the beginning of the Trolloc Wars, there must have been some animosity between the nations of Aelgar and Eharon. About four to five hundred years before the Wars, King Maecine of Eharon led his army against that of Aelgar.

The Trolloc Wars

Nothing is known of Aelgar's part in the Trolloc Wars except that, as known to everyone, it stood against the Shadow.

After the Trolloc Wars

Aelgar was one of the few nations that survived the Wars. However, it was so weakened by the forces of the Shadow that it soon fell due to this fragility. Balasun and Kharendor grew from the ruins of Aelgar during the Free Years, and later the nation of Tarabon.