Wen Chang

From Tar Valon Library
Jump to: navigation, search
Wen Chang
Real Name Laurie
Location The Netherlands
Birthday November 2
TarValon.Net Information
Affiliation Green Ajah
Rank Aes Sedai
Join Date June 6, 2006
Bonded to Moah
Link to Forum Profile

Tower History

Tower Involvement




Other Recognition



Membership Merit Gold 300.png Senior Membership Merit Gold 300.png Globetrotter Merit 300.png


Local Liaison Merit Silver 300.png Members Choice Award 300.png Members Choice Award 300.png Members Choice Award 300.png SponsorSilver300.png

Tower Relationships




Other Tower Relationships

Official Event Attendance

Tower Sworn Interview

January 31, 2008

  • How was your time as Citizen/Novice/Accepted?

I enjoyed every phase of my membership, but appreciated my time in the Tower more than my time as a Citizen because I had access to more forums and smaller groups of people.

  • Why did you choose Green?

When I define the Green Ajah, I define myself. I love and hate with a passion. I give everything I have to everything I do. I never quit, and I never let those I love quit. If I fall, I get back up, every time, sometimes with my Sisters' help. If my Sisters fall, and can't get up, I help them. I'll never let someone I love quit, even if they end up hating me for it. I love with all my heart and soul and would do anything for my family. I would protect my husband and children to the death, and would willingly die for any of them. I would go to almost the same extremes for a true friend, Sister, or Brother.

  • Are you like the Greens in the Books?

I do have a mercurial temper, but as for which Green Sedai in the books I resemble, it would have to be overwhelmingly Vandene, with a touch of Cadsuane.

  • Do you like to party, love men and are you a sucker for fashion and make up?

I enjoy small gatherings with friends, not partying. I love men in the sense that I have loads of male friends that I see as equals and I like being around men. I like joking with them, and see them as Brothers, or Brothers-in-Arms. I loathe fashion (unless 100% cotton is fashionable), and I don't generally wear makeup except on special occasions. Incidentally, I detest this stereotype of the Green Ajah and do what I can do dispell it.

  • To whom are you bonded, if you're bonded?

Moah, Gaidin of Dai M'Hael.

  • What things do you do for TV.net?

Currently, I do not hold any site positions.

  • How did you get to read the Series?

My friend Nick sent me a promotional copy of the first half of Eye of the World. I set it aside for ages as being too much of a slow starter. Later I picked it up again and was hooked.

  • Who is your mentee, if you have one?

I currently have no mentees.

  • Who is your favorite character of the Series? Favorite Nation?

I couldn't really say. That has changed many times as the series has progressed. Aviendha was my favorite character for a long time until she got all gushy over Rand. Now she irritates me. My favourite nation is probably Shienar at this point.

  • Have you ever attended any Real Life Functions? Did you like them if you did, and why? (Why do you think people should come to any future functions?)

Yes. I enjoyed them very much. Unless they are unable to attend because of age, infirmity, or finances, I don't consider people who do not attend RL functions as full members of the site. I see our community as more of a RL community with an Internet aspect than the other way around. I find it important because, for me, RL interaction makes or breaks a friendship in a lot of ways.

  • What kind of music do you like?

Mostly alternative music. Just like with movies, I like different music from different genres, depending on my mood.

  • What are your favorite movies?

I have too many to name here. I am a huge film buff and love all different movies from all different genres for different reasons.

  • What is the craziest/stupidest thing you've ever done?

It's a toss-up. I don't know if it was auditioning for a musical in high school even though I can't sing, or hanging over a 100-foot cliff by a tuft of grass to get a picture of a bird's nest.

  • What job do you have?

I currently work as an editor and translator (Dutch to English). When I lived in the U.S. I was a lawyer, but I officially retired from that profession years ago and have no desire whatsoever to return to it.

  • Do you have a pet?

Yes. I have a dog, Pepper, and two cats, Scooter and Sam.

  • What languages do you speak?

English and Dutch.

  • What profession did you want to have when you were a kid?

I wanted to be a lawyer.

  • Elayne or Cadsuane?

Cadsuane. I really dislike Elayne.

  • Aiel or Atha'an Miere?

That's a tough one, but I'd have to say I'm slightly fonder of the Aiel than the Atha'an Miere.

  • Winter or summer?

Winter if I live somewhere there's loads of snow. Otherwise, summer.

  • Day or night?

Night, all the way.

  • A short bio about yourself.

I'm 43 and am married to Cedric Chang here on the site and we have two amazing kids, Alex and Lizzy, from China. I was raised in upstate New York, and, after considerable soul-searching, I moved to the Netherlands in 1997. My hobbies are reading, machine embroidery/sewing, and walking. I have two really close friends here, both American guys (one gay, one married to a Dutchwoman), and I love getting together with them and talking politics, joking around, having a drink or two, and watching DVDs.