From Tar Valon Library
Jump to: navigation, search

A similar entry appears in the Wheel of Time Companion confirming the information available in the main story arc.

Unless stated otherwise, all information herein is taken from The World of Robert Jordan's "The Wheel of Time", Chapter 10.

Author: Atarah al'Norahn


The nation of Safer was located in what is now known as Almoth Plain and Toman Head. The Aryth Ocean was located to the west, with Jaramide to the north, separated by the river Dhagon, Aridhol, Coremanda, and Manetheren to the east, separated by the Mountains of Mist and Aelgar to the south. The capital city was Iman, where Katar now stands.

Cities, Towns, and Villages

Other cities in Safer included Miereallen (now Falme) and Shainrahien. There was a Waygate in Iman (LoC, Ch. 20).

Formation, Government, and Nobility

Like the other nations in its time, Safer was formed sometime after the Breaking of the World.

The ruler of Safer who signed the Compact of Ten Nations was king Eawynd.

At one point in time, before the Trolloc Wars, there was a king of Safer named Aedomon.

Before the Trolloc Wars

Little is known of Safer before the Trolloc Wars. However, there must have been some animosity between Safer and Manetheren; at the battle of Midean's Ford, king Aedomon of Safer wiped out Buiryn and the forces of Manetheren.

The Trolloc Wars

Nothing is known of Safer's part in the Trolloc Wars except that, as known to everyone, it stood against the Shadow.

After the Trolloc Wars

Safer was one of the Ten Nations to survive the Trolloc Wars. However, it was greatly weakened and soon disappeared. According to the maps, Darmovan, Oman Dahar, and Elan Dapor, and later Almoth Plain, Toman Head, and part of Arad Doman, grew out of the ruins of Safer.